How does one go about photographing wall finishes?

Stradawhovious

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
A friend of mine is in the business of "Ja Decor" wall finishes, and would like me to try my hand at taking some pictures of the finished product for him to use on his intratube site. For those not familiar with that type of wall finishing, it is heavily textured, and very attractive.

The part that I would need help with would be capturing the deep physical texture of the finished product. It seems that most of the photos I see on the web aren't able to capture that, and I would like to know what I can do to get a good shot.

Keep in mind, that I know I'm not a pro, and before anyone asks, I will not be charging anyone for anything and we are both going into this with the "if you don't like them, don't use them" mentality......... besides..... nothing ventured, nothing gained..... right?

Equipment on hand would be a Nikon D7000, a tripod, a SB-600 and a light stand. Please make any recommendations you feel might be helpful!

Wall finishes are not a stand-alone type of thing. In home decorating they are part of a "look" as in perhaps classy, traditional, classic, moderne, etc. What home decorators do is create the "look" by matching the wall finish to the furniture, accessories, and other colour and texture elements in the room.

You would need to take photos of rooms where the wall finish matches the furniture and other elements in the room to create whatever "look" is desired by clients or is currently "hot". while visually emphaxizing the contribution of the wall finish to that look.

skieur

Wall finishes are not a stand-alone type of thing. In home decorating they are part of a "look" as in perhaps classy, traditional, classic, moderne, etc. What home decorators do is create the "look" by matching the wall finish to the furniture, accessories, and other colour and texture elements in the room.