how long to keep client gallery up

Shadowbox

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,

I am wondering if there is a standard length of time a client gallery can be left up? I am nowhere near ready to charge for my photos, but I am creating my business outline and want to begin branding now while I am still learning so I have a good solid base when the time does come. I've looked for the standard but can't seem to find anything so I'm guessing this is up to photographer discretion and what it says on the contract. I'd like to not have my site cluttered with 100's of galleries (presumably years from now once I have a client base) but I can't be positive what a client expects either as far as length of access. Thanks

Are you putting the online gallery in the price of your pictures or is it just for proofing?

Keep it up for a short amount of time. The longer you keep it up the longer they have the opportunity to decide "do I really want this shot as a print?" Basically you want them to feel a little sense of urgency. Plus I don't think you would want to wait around for weeks to a month on them choosing proofs for finalization (if you are doing it this way)

Thank you Sabrina :) LOVE your avi pic, so cute. I plan on doing prints, I am not going to be one of those people who provides all rights to the photos on a disc, I made my mind up about that!