How Much Do You Really Know

pbelarge

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography, so I am also new to photographic related software.

After too much research, I have decided on a few programs to use. All of this is really quite overwhelming.

I like what I have seen with LR2, and I am on LR2.7. I also downloaded the NIK series of plug-ins. (I also have PSE8, Photomatix pro 3.2)

Needless to say, I get lost more than I care to say.

I have LR2 books
I have LR2 tutorials saved as favorites
I have LR2 sites saved as favorites.

I am starting to use the program and I realize after viewing the tuts and videos and reading that I really need to just use the program and see what is what.

My real question is,

How much do you really know about the software you are using?

Doesn't seem like a post for the Beyond the Basics section, but to answer you're question, I know as much as a I need to know. I know quite a bit in Lr and not much is PS when compared to the grand scale of what can be known about PS. I know what I need to know, to get done what I need to know, and if I need to know something else, I learn it. LR is big in it's own right, but PS is massive. Knowing everything in both of them would not only be unrealistic and unneeded, but also likely impossible. Learn what you need to know.

In terms of digital imaging quite a bit. I've taken quite a few books and taken several certificate courses in using Photoshop up through CS1. (I've been tinkering with it since V4.) Admittedly I probably know more Photoshop at this point than I do about some aspects of photo taking technique.