How to achieve such sharpness?

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I saw the photo of the year 2017 (2017 Photo of the Year) and I would like to ask the pros out there, how to achieve such sharpness in camera? Does a crop sensor affect sharpness when compared to a 'full frame' sensor? Thank you!

I'm not a pro, but using a sharp lens, making sure the lens is clean, making sure there is no unwanted blur, setting the correct depth of field, getting good contrast in the shot, good post processing technique and an appropriate final size all play a part.

You really won't see a difference in terms of pure sharpness between aps-c and full frame with all other things being equal, but there are some areas where using a full frame camera will produce a better result than an aps-c. Full frame cameras have better low light performance, for example. This could then have an impact on sharpness, because you typically need less noise reduction in post, or you can get cleaner shots at higher ISOs allowing you to use a faster shutter speed.

So sharpness is not one thing, but has a multitude of factors that can have a role.

The camera body has something to do with it, you're not going to get sharpness with a poorly constructed low-resolution camera. However, the two main criteria for sharpness are, in my opinion, the lens and the knowledge and abilities of the person behind the camera.

Post processing.
With the same lens, the smaller sensor means the higher sharpness across the frame.

Not withstanding the skill of the individual who produced this beautiful image, I would assume much of it was a result of enhancement in post processing.

The camera body has something to do with it, you're not going to get sharpness with a poorly constructed low-resolution camera. However, the two main criteria for sharpness are, in my opinion, the lens and the knowledge and abilities of the person behind the camera.