how to get right exposure/depth of field/shutter speed and other parameters

TheKempo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi guys, i'm not sure if this is the right place for this thread, if it's not please forgive me ahah.
so, i've recently found a canon A1 that belonged to my grandad, i've never used an analog camera in my life and i'm getting into it. i'm not really a beginner about the parameters i'm asking about but i really can't fidure out how to set them properly. for example, with my digital cameras i set iso, diafram and so on, then i shot a few photos to test them, but in this case i can't shot many photos in order to save film. my big question is: how do i undersnand what are the right settings without seeing the photos? (oh, there's also the problem that i can't see the pictures right after taking them, so...)
sorry for any grammatical errors, i'm not english native,
hope i'll recive an answere soon. thanks

There are many multiple venues of information on this.
To start, keep it simple. you dont want to burn film, so follow the Sunny 16 Rule.
Go from there.
Sunny 16 rule - Wikipedia

To start, keep it simple. you dont want to burn film, so follow the Sunny 16 Rule.
Go from there.
ok that's very usefull, thanks. so in conclusioni have to know exacly what parameters to use in each situation, 'cause i cannot "verify" them until i've developed the film, right?

Go from there.
ok that's very usefull, thanks. so in conclusioni have to know exacly what parameters to use in each situation, 'cause i cannot "verify" them until i've developed the film, right?
In simple terms, yes.

there is no mechanism that allows a 'preview" of the image. That's where the education aspect comes in.
And why, starting with the Sunny 16 Rule gives you a starting point. if you have a light meter use it.