How to protect people from scanning your work

Sharonbo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all,
I am very new to all of this. My problem is, how do photographer protect people from scanning photos?
I have already had this happen. They buy a couple photos, scan and reprint so they do not need to purchase anymore from me.
How do other photographer prevent people from just buying a few photos and scanning to make packages for themselves?
Any help would be appreciated.
I am so frustrated!

Welcome to the forum.

I think the first step is education. Most people probably don't realize that this is illegal, so you need to educate them.
You can mark the back of the photo with copyright notification. My lab uses Kodak professional paper which already has 'do not copy' on the back.

That should hopefully cover the honest people. But if people are bent on ripping you off, then it's going to be hard to stop them.

One way to deal with that, is to structure your pricing so that you don't rely too much print sales. Charge more for your initial fee. Charge more per print etc.

With desktop scanners so cheap and the average public's views on copyright becoming more and more "lax", there's no avoiding this. I'd suggest charging for a CD of the imagery...customers that really want to do their own printing will do so no matter what. I know a lot of photographers that are relying on print sales less and less; some don't even offer prints anymore and just burn CDs/DVDs!

You could also offer larger prints or a more unique product line (e.g. a photo on canvas) that a customer would not be able to print out on their desktop printer, and might not know to look for on their own.

i usually show them my sigp228 and tell them they owe me money.

Hello all,
I am very new to all of this. My problem is, how do photographer protect people from scanning photos?