How to protect photo rights-odd situation

ead90

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello! I'm a newbie here, so please bear with me :)

I have a question regarding shooting photos for a cookbook. Here's the situation: I work at a food shop and have been getting very serious about food photography. The owner of the shop is currently writing a cookbook and needs photos. She has asked that, during one of our classes, I take the photos of her food for use in the cookbook (she has requested that I use her camera, but I do not feel comfortable with this since it is a Nikon and I typically shoot with my Canon lenses). Of course, since I am just getting my foot in the door and this is a great opportunity, I am working for the experience and not for compensation.

My question is: How do I protect myself in this instance? Should I draw up a contract? (I don't want to step on any toes, but I do want credit if my photos are featured in the cookbook) I also need to post-edit since I will be shooting in RAW format, so I do not want to shoot on her camera. In addition, I don't want to just hand over the photos without having edited them, etc. I hope someone has some advice that could send me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Hello! I'm a newbie here, so please bear with me :)

I have a question regarding shooting photos for a cookbook. Here's the situation: I work at a food shop and have been getting very serious about food photography. The owner of the shop is currently writing a cookbook and needs photos. She has asked that, during one of our classes, I take the photos of her food for use in the cookbook (she has requested that I use her camera, but I do not feel comfortable with this since it is a Nikon and I typically shoot with Canon). Of course, since I am just getting my foot in the door and this is a great opportunity, I am working for the experience and not for compensation.