Humming Bird C&C

Ecas32

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
this was my first attempt ever at shooting a humming bird. all i had to use was my on camera flash, so i did the best i could :)

IMG_2763_final.jpg

edit- wow the image quality totally deteriated when i put it on photobucket...

Last edited:
Neat shot. I've never tried shooting a hummingbird before, but it's something I might give a go at if the weather ever gets better.

It looks like the flash blew some of your highlights, which is unfortunate. It also looks a little overexposed for my tastes. A tighter crop might look a bit better, but that's pretty subjective.

All in all, a pretty nice shot.

ya i would of liked to get a better crop but the bird was almost out of the frame in this shot.... im gonna try again tomorrow, hopefully with better results. i may try and make a diffuser for the flash though so its not as harsh

I like this photo quite a bit. I don't see any blown area on my monitor except a couple of small spots on the feeder which I could live with.

I love the wing image in front of the bird.

thanks cloudwalker!
and plato- ill take that as a compliment i guess? lol

and haha ya i didnt even notice the wing motinon in front of it... but susposedly they beat 80 times a second !!

Actually, it depends on their size. Some have been clocked at 200 beats per second but the larger ones can go as slow as 18 bps. At least, that's what I've read. I haven't tried counting myself :lol:

All that to say that if you wanted to freeze the wing motion, you'd need to find the bigger ones to shoot. :D

yup. the ways the pros do it though is use a strobe flash to do the freezing and jack there aperature up to like f11-13. they actually have to use like 3-5 strobe flashes to be able to light everything- foreground, background, and way back ground lol.

all i had was one on camera built in flash :p