I am a newbie with a few questions.

thud

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a newbie.. I mean, I have been taking pictures for over 10 years but.. I'm sure you understand how that is... I am looking to go beyond the "AUTO" feature. LOL

So here's the thing. I am absolutely in love with this photographers pictures. Most recently she took a picture of some wedding rings in a nest that looks amazing. I hope you don't mind me posting a link to the picture I am referring to - its the first image on this post:
http://labellavitablog.com/2010/06/07/georgianna-and-andrew/ I dont want to post her work without her permission so you'll have to view it on her blog.

We happen to have some active bird nests within our car port so I decided to give it a shot...

I am not 100% satisfied with the results and I have absolutely no idea what I am doing wrong...

Can I get some constructive criticism please?

IMG_2199.jpg

IMG_2198.jpg

IMG_2197.jpg

In my opinion, the last one seems to be the best but... I just feel like it could be better... I don't know where to go from here.

what setting? i dnt have an exif veiwer, so i cannot tell. The images look a little blurry.

I used manual focus instead of automatic. I focused on the eggs which is why the nest is a bit blurry I suppose...

This program I have on my mac says that following about the third picture:

info.png

What is it that you don't like about the images? It helps to know what you want to achieve with a photograph so you have some ideas of what's not working.

Have Fun,
Jeff

Well I just think my pictures look so amateur... I want them to look professional and right now they just look ordinary. In the example I provided above (wedding photos), you can see that the nest has quite a bit of contrast and just looks amazing to me I suppose. Hmm...

Is it the camera that is holding me back? I have a Canon G10 (14.7mp) and a Nikon D80.