I am the n00b :P

nitefly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.rawmusicians.com
Hey,

I am really new to photography and to tell the truth, I don't really know what makes a "good" photo. I took this photo today so I'd appreciate anyones advice on what i could have done better and what's bad about the pic.

Many thanks,

Nath.

imanoob.jpg

well, why do YOU like the shot? I personally dont care for it as its a gas pump. its composed well as the pump is off to the side giving it a bit of drama. When I decide if I like a shot or nit I like to think "would I like this shot if it were hanging on my wall?" if so, then it doesnt matter what others think. A good photo technicaly needs good lighting, composition, framing, a point of focus etc, but theres no way of looking at a photo and saying it is "good" or not, its subjective. Looking foreward to more of your work, just keep shooting and you will soon not have to worry about knowing if your pics are good or not... they will all be good.

-Joe

There's nothing technically very wrong with the picture other than it's rather lacklustre subject. I can identify with being bored at Morrisons though, so I'll let you off.

It's a touch grainy and there's some slightly odd noise in the dark areas, presumably it was a reasonably high ISO film or just a scanning artifact.

I'd recommend that you take pictures of something/someone that you really care about. Doesn't matter if it's animals, landscapes, people, skateboarding, violent yobs, old men in irish bars with craggy faces, droplets of water... (ok I'll stop now) but it really helps if you have emotional contact with your subject.

Now imagine trying to portray your best friend's personality to us, in a single 1/125th of a second. Is he/she, cheeky, shy whatever... this is the type of thinking I do with a picture and it's only the pictures where I'm trying to achieve a conveyence of meaning which turn out good. Everything else is a snapshot.