I don't go to seminars

dnavarrojr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.topekadesign.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
But, this last weekend I went to a seminar. A friend of mine paid for me to go and I didn't have anything else to do, so I went. And I was surprised...

2011 Summer Tour | Sallee Nordstrom

When I was a web developer I used to go to development seminars all the time, but I've always avoided going to "rally" type seminars where someone else had the magic secret to making me more successful. The Sallee Nordstrom Turn the Key thing is kind of like that, it's a few successful photographers giving advice on how to increase your photography business. I went in skeptical and came back satisfied that had I actually paid the $59 myself, it would have been money well spent.

http://www.salleephotography.com/

lori nordstrom studio

First, let me start with the negatives and get them out of the way... The photographers running the seminar are successful because they are great sales people, not great photographers. Their photography isn't bad and probably still better than mine, but it's not what I would consider outstanding photography work. They are masters at taking a better than average product and selling the heck out of it. And at $59 average price for the 140ish people who showed up for the seminar, I can't imagine they made much money from ticket sales. But, they made a crap ton of money from up-selling most of the attendees in the room. They sold PhotoShop templates, videos and other doo-dads at an average price of $400 per sale... and they had a lot of takers there. It was a little bit like being at a Time-Share presentation during parts of the seminar with a hard sell on their various products. If they are as successful at selling to their photography clients as they are to other photographers, then they've got to be pushing a million dollars a year in overall sales.

Okay, let's get to the good stuff...