I got a new camera

BJPhotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I bought a new camera. Im enrolled in courses. Im hoping to learn some things. In the meantime, Ive been playing with it and Im learning about composition. Although I do like to post process some of my pictures, I have realized that alot of my early problems was my other camera so I was post processing alot to compensate for the camera.

Please give me feedback on these photos. Ive been working harder on composition lately and Im still learning how to use this new camera.
JamesRiver-1.jpg

Is the lighting okay on this one or what can I do differently here? I like the darker look but Im not sure what I can do to improve it.
GuitarLessons.jpg

Yes this one has cross-processed added to it. I thought it worked with it well. Yes? No?
SwimmingBuddies.jpg

NIce photos...
#1 - horizon is right smack in the middle. Try the 1/3 - 2/3 ratio or the rule of thirds
#2 - I like it. Nice perspective
#3 - picture is leaning to the left and you cropped the head on the right and shoulders of both kids.

1. Either crop the top third off to get rid of the sky, or the bottom third to get rid of the sand in the foreground. Stryker's right about trying landscape shots with the horizon on the top or bottom line of the Rule of Thrids.
2. Crop out the drumkit and although you said you liked this one dark, I still think brightning it up a bit (not too much) will give it a bit of a boost.
3. I actually really like this as it is. I don't mind the head and shoulders being slightly cut - it squeezes the kids together in the frame and gives them a real "good friends" feel to the shot. But get rid of the title text!

Thanks for the critiques so far!

For the first one, if I cut off the bottom, wont it lose its perspective thats Im close to shore or maybe that doesnt matter? I thought I needed it but I guess the docks do that anyway. I'll crop it down some and see what happens.