I have a crap camera, so where do I start?

DuneRose

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I got the Canon 1100D as a gift. I tried looking at sample pictures other people took with it, and it seems like a really rubbish camera. So, how do I start to make good use of it?

1. Realize that, within reason, there is no such thing as a "Bad Camera". Cameras are only tools.
2. Realize that 50% of a photograph is the camera and 50% the person behind it. Others may have different opinions of the percentages and they could be right.
3. Learn the limits of the camera that you have. Figure out what it can do and what it cannot do.
4. Learn to use it properly within those limitations.

You start in the exact same place as you would with a "really great" camera. You don't specify, but I take it you're a complete beginner. So, whether you are starting with a Canon 1100D, a 5D MkIII, a Nikon 3100 or a Nikon D800 doesn't matter. Start in the same place:

1. Read the manual.
2. Learn about composition and start learning to "see" a scene as a photograph--what's the subject? Where in the photo should it go? What's in the background that might be distracting and how can you work around that? Learn about the rule of thirds and practice it in your photos.
3. Read the manual again.
4. Work on understanding the exposure triangle.
5. Practice, practice, practice.
6. Post a few (not dozens at once!) results here so those with tons more experience and skill can rip you apart... :lol:... because in the process they will help you improve much more quickly than you would on your own.
7. Read the manual.
8. Practice some more.

There's plenty more, but if my son was just starting into photography, that's the advice I'd give him.

Everything SCraig said is on target--don't worry about whether the CAMERA is decent. Work on creating a quality photographer.