I just can't take pictures in AV mode

MKamran

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
totally frustrated by the fact that almost all my pictures in AV mode with my 85mm lens are coming out blurred... why???? i am good at TV mode.
even if my babies are asleep and the flash it on i have a TTL HSS flash and i just got it and of course i am a beginner..... still my AV mode pictures suck big time.... NEED HELP please.

Can you post some pics with the EXIF data. I would assume the shutter speed is too slow and you are getting shake/motion blur from holding the camera.

Since you have a flash
you may want to experiment in Manual Mode.
You can set your aperture that you want, and the shutter speed that you want.
Then let the flash in TTL mode to get you a proper exposure.

Two words: Shutter Speed.

Even with the babies asleep, if you try to hand-hold the camera and the shutter speed is too low, the imperceptible shake of your own hands and the camera when you push down the shutter button during the moment that the shutter is open is enough to blur the image.

The general rule of thumb is that you want your shutter speed to be at least equal to your focal length. So, if your focal length is 50mm, you want your shutter speed to be at LEAST 1/50th of a second. At 100mm, you want at LEAST 1/100th of a second, and so on.

And even then, you'll want to employ the breathing techniques, stance with elbows close to the body, feet wide apart, leaning on something if at all possible, and so on to get as steady as possible.

Even better - get that gear on a tripod or a bean bag or steady it on the edge of a dresser, or something.