I know I'm new to TPF and all, but....

Shelly1204

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've noticed an unusual large number of posts from newbies that either go one of two ways:

(1) "I just bought a brand new 7D with a kit lens, so now i can be a professional photographer and charge people money. I just booked a wedding for this weekend. Can someone tell me how to get the lens cap off?"

or,

(2) "What does JPEG mean?" or any other simple question that could be answered with either a forum or a google search.

Is this pretty much the gist of the new people on this forum? How do you guys who have been here for so long have patience? For those who do photography full time, doesn't it piss you off a bit that so many people think they can buy an expensive camera and bam, they're automatically at your level?

You guys are awfully nice to these types of posters. Just sayin'....

Happy holidays. :mrgreen:

Yep, that's the way it goes sometimes. I usually ignore them and move on to other posts. While it does seem to happen often, it's not the only thing going on here, and there's always much more helpful and lively discussions that I'd rather read or participate in. It's not something you're ever going to stop, especially by jumping on them about it, so take it all for what it's worth and either help them or move on.

She said it all, wonder what %age of posts on TPF are like that, or the "What camera should I buy?", "What lens should I buy?", "Should I buy a Canon?", "Should I buy a Nikon?" without doing a little searching for when the same question has already been answered hunderds of times?

People talk about being a "Pro", when you know they aren't anywhere near ready just because of the question they asked.

There was a thread awhile back about what makes a Pro, and the concensus answer was pretty much "You charge money for it"