I might be over my head?

Ihaveaquestion

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I just told my sister "I'll be your photographer" so she can save money for her wedding.

I have a Canon T2. I'm thinking I need a 50mm lense and a better flash? What kind of equipment should I look into getting? And whats the rule of thumb for indoor lighting?

Rule of thumb for weddings is to stay the F away from them, unless you're pro.

There's no thumbs for indoor lighting.

50/1.8 is a must... You'd probably want an 85 too... and a flash... and a flash bracket... and a backup for everything... because these things die on you...

Don't have much input on technical stuff, but I can say as an extrememly amature photographer myself that shooting a relative's wedding is a dangerous game. It really depends on the bride AND the groom's personalities. I was asked to shoot my Dad's wedding last year and in extreme naivity I said yes. They were also on an extremely tight budget - the reception was at their house.....and I knew that my Dad would really like the sentimental value of me taking the shots. Thankfully neither my Dad or his bride (to my knowledge) are either picky people and they were pleased with what I managed to capture. If they were ANY other type of personality than laid back, it could've been not fun. PLEASE make sure that you show them some quality photographer's work and if you arent sure you can produce it, then go over w/ them again and again this disclaimer.

Good luck!!

If you can get them to pay somebody to do the formal shots and your willing to spend a fair amount of money on some primes and a real flash with a defuser then you may be able to swing the journalistic style stuff. I have started to shoot small events and I can attest that its not as easy as it looks. I can not stress the need for a fast lens and a nice flash enough. There are a lot of great guide books for persons trying to get into the wedding world.