I Need Help!!

Luckimom3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography and was wondering if someone could explain the difference between all the D3000,3300,3400,3500 cameras and the D5000,5300,5600 cameras.

I thought the lower the number the older the camera was, but was looking at the D3500 release date and the D5600 release date

Please help. Should I get the D5600 or the newer D3500? I thought the 5600 was newer and offers more.

They are two different lines. The 3xxx series is entry level. The 5xxx series has a few more features. To see what the differences are, compare the specs on the specific two you are interested in.

I googled it for you. I’m sure there are several similar comparisons online. This was the first one to come up. https://cameradecision.com/compare/Nikon-D3500-vs-Nikon-D5600

Nikon D3500 Key Specs
  • Announcement Date: 2018-08-29
  • 24MP - APS-C CMOS Sensor
  • No Anti-aliasing (AA) filter
  • ISO 100 - 25600
  • Nikon F Mount
  • 3" Fixed Type Screen
  • Optical (pentamirror) viewfinder
  • 5.0 fps continuous shooting
  • 1920 x 1080 video resolution
  • 365g. 124 x 97 x 70 mm
  • Replaced Nikon D3400 Compare
Nikon D5600 Key Specs
  • Announcement Date: 2016-11-10
  • ISO 100 - 25600
  • Nikon F Mount
  • 3.2" Fully Articulated Screen
  • Built-in Wireless
  • 465g. 124 x 97 x 70 mm
  • Replaced Nikon D5500 Compare
Reasons to choose Nikon D3500 over Nikon D5600
2 advantages
battery.png
Battery Life 1550 shotsvs820 shots 730 more frames with a single charge
weight4.png
Weight 365 gvs465 g 100 g lighter
Reasons to choose Nikon D5600 over Nikon D3500
11 advantages
wireless.png
Wireless Connection Built-InvsNo Better connectivity
rotate.png
Articulating Screen YesvsNo Flexible shooting positions
finger.png
Touch Screen YesvsNo Easy control of camera functions
viewfinder.png
Number of Focus Points 39vs11 28 more focus points
size.png
LCD Screen Size 3.2"vs3" 0.2 inches larger display
macro.png