nerwin

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Website
nickerwin.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I need to let some steam out.

I'm going to admit it, I suck at photography, I am not that good despite what some people might say. I'm tired of friends and family saying I'm that good at photography when in reality I am a crap photographer who doesn't even know what he's doing half the time.

Sure...I might get an okay shot every now and then but that can happen to anyone who owns a camera even if they don't know anything about photography.

To make matters worse, I'll look at other photographers work who only been shooting for a year or two absolutely blow my photos out of the water and make them look like snapshots compared to theirs. Almost tempts me to click format on my hard drives and just give it up.

But I love photography too much to just give it up like that. I want to get better at it. But I don't know where to begin.

Now that everyone knows I suck at photography, what should be the first step to get better? Should I start a project? What kind of a project?! I don't know what to do.

Winter is right around the corner and I hate snow and the cold so I'm going to be stuck inside 90% of the time. What can I do inside during winter that could help me get better at photography?

You said you love it too much to give it up, so don't let yourself. Everyone goes through this a few times early on, but you will improve. The only people who don't improve are the ones who don't even realize they need to and the ones who don't care enough and just give up.