i'm a little confused

carlita

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.angelfire.com
:? i've never used slide film before and i'm curious about something. i had bought some for a class about a year ago and we ended up not using it. it's kodak elite chrome tungsten 160T. it does say "process e-6" on it, but i've never used film like that before. i'm probably all worried for nothing, but i don't want to end up screwing it up or something. so can i just take this to the same old photo lab where i normally get my color stuff processed?

and while we're on the subject of slide film... do any of you have any particular kind you'd recommend?

E6 is the standard process for slides. The only slide film out there that I am aware of that uses a different process is Kodachrome witch uses K14. You can get it developed into slides at any lab that does E6 processing; departmentt store labs, etc... may not offer E6 processing. You could cross-process it in C41(standard color neg processing) and get wacky color/contrast prints.

Tungsten balanced film is designed to counter the orange/yellow color shift of tungsten bulb photofloods. If you shoot it in regular daylight it will be very blue.

Lita, for a lark I picked up a couple different kinds of Fuji slide film (Provia? I think), followed by Agfa, and the Kodak Elite Chrome. Of the three, I was most impressed with the Fuji for its color saturation and brightness. It was impressive to lay out my slide sheets and compare like that (which is why I bought different kinds). Second in the pack was the Elite Chrome, and the Agfa was okay, just nothing that stood out.

I still have Fuji Sensia and Kodak Ektachrome to try. Like you, since I'm using a slide printer for Polaroid manipulations, etc., I am totally interested in trying a wide variety of slide films. I also have a box of Kodachrome, but I'm in no hurry to try it while I'm still in class, due to the processing delay.

Let us know what you try and show the results!! :)