I'm a newbie: First C&C Post

TooShay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys! I've been learning photography for about 5 months now and I'm trying to gauge how well I'm doing because I really want to offer portrait services in the future. I just photographed a friend's newborn last week so if someone would please C&C these, I'd greatly appreciate it! Keep in mind that I've only been at this for a few months :) Thanks!

Here is my uneducated $.02. The first shot would work better without that thing on the baby's head and if the butt and feet were not cut off. The second one is a cute idea but the background has to go. The wallpaper is hideous and the white molding isn't helping either. I would experiment with the basket thingy on a solid background (maybe black and white to start with).

I agree with Phoenix mostly although I think the background (albeit hideous) works well because of the colour matching. Maybe take it a little more into soft focus though (to take away the ugliness of the pattern) ;-)

I think this is a very popular photo for the newborn crowd these days. I've done it. I'll do the set up again.... The first one I hate the flower bigger then the head. I bet that was moms idea? yes?

find some smaller bows.

The second one I think is fine, very nice but the legs are a bit blue and I'd try to fix that. Also that baby should probably be up more in the basket, I can't explain it but it just looks like a head coming out of legs.... it would be nice to see some body.

Gary, that's what I was wondering. #2 is distubingly similar to that other one that was posted a week or two ago.