I'm a student developing a new storage format for photos and am looking for input

erinburk60

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone!
I'm Erin! I'm a computer science student from Arizona (although I currently live in Berlin, Germany). For my Master's thesis, I'm developing a new long-term storage format for digital images that maintains the original fidelity of an image (think RAW) but is much smaller and supports means to efficiently save multiple copies across different storage locations. The file format will be open and patent-free and I'm hoping to get my thesis published by spring of next year.
Anyhow, I'm currently collecting some data points for the introduction of my thesis and as my work is mostly directed towards photographers, I was hoping you guys could answer some questions:
Here's the survey in case you're interested (should only take a few minutes):https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1xt8JbZgHyj9Sn1ybmPR8baQg9YWl9n6mjrfk_4zDiyI/viewform
Thanks a bunch in advance!
Please forgive me, if this is the wrong forum!:blushing:
Cheers, Erin

Did your survey because I'm interested in what you're working on. As a thank you to us for helping you, please come back here with the findings of your research.

Thanks.

Doesn't look like the survey includes images originally shot on film, which of course requires physical storage so I don't know if or how that fits into your research and thesis.

What do you mean by 'patent-free'? (that question came to mind). To me that sounds like an original process being created and not being registered or protected but maybe that isn't what it means for this purpose.

Done, altho the question 'how many pictures do you take and keep' is a bit confusing.

I take a great many but cull pretty ruthlessly. So I might keep x but have taken 5 or 10x depending on circumstances.
I assume you wanted to know how many I add to my archive each month and answered that way.

Best of luck.

Come back.