I'm new to photography, just sayin

RossPhotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm just getting started in this field and have a ton of questions. My first one is for portraits, what lens would be ideal?

Welcome. There are a lot of opinions,but a couple of the ones that come up most are the 85mm f2.8, 24-70 mm f2.8 and the 70-200 mm f2.8

^ I'm assuming you mean the 85mm f1.8. I have it, and I think it would be great for head shots (I don't really take too people pictures...yet) if you're using a cropped body. If you want a full body shot, the 85 1.8 may be a tad bit too much for a cropped body. A 50mm on a cropped might be a better choice for full body shots. Which one, I have no clue since I don't have any 50mm lenses.

What camera do you have APS-C or FF ? That would help to be able to answer your question.

Last edited:
^ I'm assuming you mean the 85mm f1.8. I have it, and I think it would be great for head shots (I don't really take too people pictures...yet) if you're using a cropped body. If you want a full body shot, the 85 1.8 may be a tad bit too much for a cropped body. A 50mm on a cropped might be a better choice for full body shots. Which one, I have no clue since I don't have any 50mm lenses.

What if he has a FF camera?

Indoor or outdoor?
If indoor is it a studio - if so how big? Or is it on location in various events/situations/homes.

What kind of camera do you have currently?
What kind of budget are you at least expecting/anticipating to work with?

what other kind of support equipment do you have (eg tripods, light sources (flash), light modification devices (softboxes/umbrellas/reflectors/excluders etc...)

You need to provide much more information otherwise you'll just get a mostly meaningless long list of lenses depending on what people have or like or just bought. If you want a good answer for yourself you've got to put your criteria on the table first and foremost.