Indoor Action Photography

es.volpe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm looking to start doing some photography at indoor horse shows. I've had plenty of experience shooting horse shows, but only outdoor ones where there's plenty of light to allow for a quick shutter speed. My other photography is mostly nature photography or portraiture, so I don't have much experience with indoor action photography and am trying to figure out what equipment I'll need. (And any general tips would also be appreciated!)

I'll be mostly photographing shows that include jumping horses. The lighting at these shows is obviously what concerns me. Usually they are held in large arenas where the only lighting comes from a very high ceiling. While some horse show photographers use flash at certain shows, it's not always acceptable, as horses can spook at a flash.

I'm also wondering how much noise is acceptable in photographs that I'm looking to sell. I'm assuming that even with the proper lens, there will be some noise due to the lack of flash.

I currently have a Nikon D80 with an 18-135mm Nikkor lens. As much as I'd like to keep it inexpensive (at least for the first few shows), I'd be willing to drop the money for a new lens if necessary. Also, I've heard something about being able to rent lenses ... is this an option for the first couple shows maybe? How expensive is it and how would you go about renting a lens?

Thanks in advance for your help!

I would think a 2.8 zoom lens, maybe a 24-70 or so, would be best. It depends on how close you can get to the horses. If you are far, might need a longer zoom, but I'm thinking that due to the low light, a 2.8 would be a necessity.

There are softwares that help eliminate the noise in a picture. Look at Noise Ninja, a plugin for Photoshop.

As for renting lenses, I'd check out local camera stores to see if they offer the service. A few local ones here do.
If not, you can look online.