Indoor Event, Looking for Advice

K8-90

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been asked to shoot an engagement party/dinner.

Before the onslaught of "you're not ready, tell them to get someone else" begins - I'd like to clarify my position. The bride's mother asked my mother, last minute, if I would take some pictures during the event. I replied that I was flattered but I'm not a pro, nor do I have experience with that kind of situation. They insisted, saying it doesn't matter, they weren't planning on having a photographer, just thought it would be nice to have some pictures. They'll have a real photographer for the wedding. So I agreed.

Now, I am looking for some advice. I just want to make the best of it.

I immediately looked into renting a lens and flash for the weekend. I informed the bride that I'd have to do this, as I don't have the necessary equipment. I was hoping to get the 24-70mm F/2.8 and the 580EX Speedlite. But it looks like I'm SOL for that. I tried the three local places and I can can get the flash, but the lens is unavailable. I'm on a waiting list at one place...

I have a Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 OS and the Canon 50mm f/1.8 (I was really relying on the rental lens! But they only gave me a week...). I'm using an XSi, so my 50mm is really an 80mm.

The hall they rented has mid-height ceilings, so I can bounce the flash. However, most of the walls are mirrored. Will this cause a problem?

I don't even know what I'm asking here - just any help would be appreciated!

*sigh*

I have been asked to shoot an engagement party/dinner.