Intro and Feedback!

Mamamilkies

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone! I am new to photography forums but not to the world of message boards. My name is Chantel and I'm what you would like to call a semi-pro photographer. I've been paid for my work so I'm not an amature, but I don't have the skills and experience I'd consider to be a professional level. So, semi-pro it is! :mrgreen: I spent the last year sans camera and recently bought a Nikon D80 body and Nikkor 18-135 lens which is serving me well. Boy am I RUSTY though! My favorite subjects are my 6 kids Gabe, Hannah, Noah, Isabella, and newborn twins Claire and Ben. My favorite thing to photograph are births and I'm an aspiring midwife. I miss working but don't have the time right now!

So, anyway, I'm back to the basics right now. Lighting, composition, focus, and white balance to name a few. I DO NOT own photoshop so these are SOOC. Feedback and editing more than welcome. :sexywink:

Glad to be here!

These were taken outside with fill flash (which is on camera, and sucky, I'm in the market for an off camera flash and diffuser).

DSC_0040.jpg

DSC_0041.jpg

DSC_0039-1.jpg

Welcome aboard. I haven't been doing this long enough to give good feedback but those photos look great. I also have the same camera and lens and can tell you the 18-135 lens is a good all around lens which you are proving with your photos.

Chris

Critique per req:
1. An interesting picture, but not a composition of which I am especially fond. The flowers are held in such a way as to just about totally mask her nose and mouth, and at first glance I find myself wondering if there isn't something wrong with her face. The crop is also a little tight, and while there isn't much of it, the background is much to sharply focused; always try and bring your subjects well forward. You did however get great catchlights in her eyes!