• Dance of the Orange Brittle Star

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

captbunzo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey folks, thought I'd introduce myself. My name is Paul Thompson. I am an amateur photographer from the central United States. I first got into photography at the hobbiest level a couple of years back when I came home from a week long summer vacation with over 1000 photos. And it's all been downhill from there as this summers 11 day trip resulted in 3000 pics.

Thank God for digital cameras and infinite storage space.

Anyhow, my equipment would include a Nikon D50. I have been enjoying the wonderful world of Digital SLR for about 18 months. My favorite lens, which is relatively new in my collection, is a Lensbaby 2 (and the accessory telephone and wide angle lenses, and the close-up filter set). I have 2 primary lenses at the moment:
  1. Nikkor 18-70 mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF AF-S DX
  2. Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6D ED AF
My dream lens at the moment is the Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED AF-S VR DX lens. But I suspect many of us want one of those...

Anyhow, my primary areas of interest include taking pictures of my family (wife & kids), my sal****er fish tanks (etc), and various outdoor, nature, etc, pics. A random shmattering of my pics can be found in my filckr album.

And lastly, here are a couple of my best shots...

Volitan Lionfish, Oklahoma City Zoo

Coral, Ricordea, my fish tank in Ardmore, OK

And a recent favorite of mine....

Orange Brittle Star, my fish tank in Irving, TX

Welcome to the forum. I like what I see so far...and I look forward to seeing some of your travel/vacation shots as well.

To be honest, my initial impressions of the board have not been so great, unfortunately. I asked a simple question about close-up filters in this thread, and was subsequently demeaned, my question was never actually answered, and then I was told that "if I asked for advise, I needed to be willing to listen to it".