is a Nikon D7000 worth the upgrade?

ShutterSpeed

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Teresina, Brazil otherwise known as the End of the
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm an American photographer living in Brazil. However, I teach english and cameras here are SUPER expensive. But since my income is limited, I won't be able to fully upgrade to a full frame camera when i arrive in the U.S. next month for vacation.

I currently have a D60 and want to upgrade to the D7000.
But since my spending money is limited, i have to choose between the following options.

2 additional SB-600s with a SU-800 Commander or 3 SB-600s with pocket-wizards.

or

Nikon D7000 with the SU-800 commander and probably 1 SB-600. (i already have 1 SB-600)

the d7000 has the following advantages that I've been interested in.
high-iso/low noise
on camera motor.

but, if i don't go with the d7000 i am investing more money in a lighting system for my small studio set up that i'm building here...so...it feels like a dilemma...

help?

It was well worth the upgrade going from a D5000 to a D7000 for me.

The D7000 has Commander mode built-in, likely negating the need for a SU-800. I realize the SU-800 has a bit more range but.....

I much prefer the versatility and range a radio triggering system offers over an IR system like CLS, and i don't much care for the inconsistant results i-TTL delivers.

I'm way smarter than a Nikon camera and flash unit, so I just use manual modes and much less expensive 3rd party lighting gear, particularly in a studio setting where FP-sync isn't needed.

i would recommend getting a used 1ds2.

YOU are a TROLL! Keeps on saying that in every thread where people are thinking of getting a D7000..
Not gonna say it again, the D7000 eats the 1ds2 for dinner and ****s it out again all over another 1ds2. :)