Is it necessary to format a CF card after every photo transfer?

malkav41

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all,

Being as I am new to the DSLR world, I was wondering if it was necessary to format my CF card after I transfer the photos to my computer.

I downloaded some shots I took last night, and today I noticed that my D70s was showing [FOR] on the top LCD. When I pressed the playback button it stated that the card needed to be formatted.

So, I guess what I want to know is, do I need to format everytime I download photos as I stated at the beginning?

Thanks in advance,
Ed

Last edited:
I don't format after every transfer, but I format before every major shoot.

correct me if im wrong, but i think its one of those things where formatting too much will make it "die" faster...

Does make sense although I have no facts. I do know each area of a solid state disk has a life span specified in terms of number of writes. It is the responsibility of the controller to "spread" those writes throughout the disk to prevent premature failure in a single location. I would guess this is the same for these cards... assuming that each format writes to a specific location on the card (or the whole card) it just might cause them to fail early.

Myself I typically keep my shots on the cards even after I've transffered them to the computer (it acts as a short term backup solution just incase anything goes wrong on the computer before I can backup the photos to another harddrive). Thus I tend to only delete all/format just before I need the card itself - though if going out for a shoot I'll also clean out all the cards (so in the field I can change cards fast without having to format them in the field).