Is this a good tripod Bogen Manfrotto 3021 Professional Tripod with 3047 Head

Foxtrot_01

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hello all,
I am not sure Im posting this in the right section but I wanted to gather everybody’s thoughts about this tripod and head. I am new to photography and I don’t have that much of a budget so I am gathering my things little by little. I currently have a Canon 40D, 28-105mm Canon lens and just got a 75-300mm Canon USM II(I know it doesn’t have great reviews but I will figure it out :-D) I am also looking to buy a used speedlite 550EX that I found locally for $250(what is the criteria when buying used a used flash?). I also came across this tripod and head and I wanted to know if this was good for what I currently have, from what I understand other than sturdiness and quality on a tripod you want a tripod to be able to carry the load of the camera and lens. From what I have do you guys think this will be a good tripod and head? What are the average prices for this tripod and head? I am not looking to pay more than $160.00

Bogen/Manfrotto is a very good brand. I can't seem to find that model in particular, but I'm sure it will hold the gear you have.
Buying it brand new, I'd guess that for the legs & head, it would be $200+...used is anybody's guess.
I've bought many used tripods, the Manfrottos are pretty tough, so even with hard use, they still work fine.
If you want a recommendation for a new one, have a look at THIS.

As for the the flash, take some fresh batteries and make sure that it powers up and fires. Test it on the hot shoe to make sure it communicates with the camera. Make sure that the head tilts & swivels properly.