Is this fungus?

XLR8R

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Just got a Minolta XE-5 off Ebay today. When I removed the lens, this is what I saw on the mirror. I'm new to collecting and shooting vintage cameras so this is new to me. Is this just water damage? Is this fungus? What's the worse case scenario? I want to try and clean it but I'm afraid I would make it worse. But if left unchecked, is this going to be a problem?

I'm trying to shoot a roll right now and get it developed to see if it effects the photos. But I'm more concerned about what it will do in the future if left unchecked. Thank you guys.
IMG_3336.jpg

It Looks like fungus to me. Since it is on the mirror, it should not affect your photos but I would think that your viewfinder image might be affected somewhat. The reflex mirror in a single lens reflex is very easily scratched, but possibly you could use something to Eliminate some of the fungus. I have never seen a reflex mirror in such a bad condition

As Derrel says it certainly looks like fungus. It seems quite severe and I'd be concerned it'd have spread to other areas within the body housing, which is worthy of further investigation.

As stated above it does appear to be a possible fungal growth.

This is something that you will want to investigate further fungus or not. As the mirror flipps up and down it will eventually shed some of whatever this is inside the body of the camera and on the back of the lens. If it is a fungus then you will begin seeing growth in other areas as well if left unchecked.

For cleaning I would use a mild water/detergent mix (dry cleaning will only increase the likelyhood of spreading it) and a soft cloth or Q-tip. Wipe from the inner portion of the mirror out in order to affect the smallest area possible.

Personally I would probably dissasemble the camrea as much as I am comfortable and try to clean as much as possible to try and ensure all of it was gone.