Is this fungus?

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by XLR8R, Aug 4, 2020.

1. XLR8R

XLR8R TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Just got a Minolta XE-5 off Ebay today. When I removed the lens, this is what I saw on the mirror. I'm new to collecting and shooting vintage cameras so this is new to me. Is this just water damage? Is this fungus? What's the worse case scenario? I want to try and clean it but I'm afraid I would make it worse. But if left unchecked, is this going to be a problem?

I'm trying to shoot a roll right now and get it developed to see if it effects the photos. But I'm more concerned about what it will do in the future if left unchecked. Thank you guys.
    IMG_3336.jpg

2. Derrel

Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

Photos OK to edit
    It Looks like fungus to me. Since it is on the mirror, it should not affect your photos but I would think that your viewfinder image might be affected somewhat. The reflex mirror in a single lens reflex is very easily scratched, but possibly you could use something to Eliminate some of the fungus. I have never seen a reflex mirror in such a bad condition

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Space Face

Space Face Been spending a lot of time on here!

Top Poster Of Month

Photos NOT OK to edit
    As Derrel says it certainly looks like fungus. It seems quite severe and I'd be concerned it'd have spread to other areas within the body housing, which is worthy of further investigation.

• Like Like x 2
  4. zombiesniper

zombiesniper Furtographer Extraordinaire! Staff Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    As stated above it does appear to be a possible fungal growth.

This is something that you will want to investigate further fungus or not. As the mirror flipps up and down it will eventually shed some of whatever this is inside the body of the camera and on the back of the lens. If it is a fungus then you will begin seeing growth in other areas as well if left unchecked.