ISO number and shutter speed question Voightlander Vito B

jumpfrog

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to photography. I refurbished my grandfathers old Voightlander Vito B recently and I have been out shooting with it. It is a beautiful old camera!

In my haste to get going, I bought the cheapest film on Amazon Prime - Kodak 400TX B&W film.

The max shutter speed on the camera is 200.

Stuff I have read online says you should match the shutter speed to the film ISO. (Following sunny 16 rule for example).

I processed my first film recently and some photos came out well, but some very bad. I am not sure if it is a film/shutter speed, a shaky hand, wrong aperture, etc.

I am wondering if I can use ISO 400 film when the max shutter speed is 200?

Thank you for some advice

You can, as long as you're not in bright sunlight and you stop down. The 'Sunny 16' rule states that shutter speed and ASA should match, and f16 used in full, bright sun, f11 in indirect sun/slight haze, f8 light overcast, etc... Since your maximum shutter speed is 200 and you're using 400 ASA film, you need to increase aperture by one full stop; so in bright sun you would need to be at f22 (You probably can't do that), indirect sun, f16, and so forth. You could also invest in a one-stop neutral density filter which would have the equivalent effect to using 200 ASA film.