Just picked up the camera. Tips and critiques?

SCullet

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all,

I just picked up a Nikon D3100 today. I literally know next to nothing about photography but it's something that I've been really interested in for a long time. I went out and took a couple of shots on the tracks behind my apartment. I'd love to hear your overall impression, things that you would do differently, how you would edit the photos, etc. I'm looking to learn whatever I can.

$DSC_0020.JPG$DSC_0021.JPG$xRkhWt7.jpg$ilwRdTx.jpg

I like #2 the best, the one with the tracks centered, and leading away to the curve to the right.

It is a great composition, but is a little over exposed for my tastes.

Sorry, total newbie remember, overexposed meaning a little washed out? How would one prevent that? Shorter shutter speed?

Welcome to the forum! Don't worry about niggling details at this point. Just enjoy! If you think the shot is overexposed, you can simply work with the exposure compensation feature. A little bit of "minus" will probably satisfy Warhorse.

Meanwhile, I'm rather fond of #4.

#4 is my favorite as well. This is my first DSLR, so these pictures today were more just to see what the camera itself and the two lenses I have can do. I didn't do any editing on the computer. Just curious to see what would happen when I point and shot in different ways.

Excellent exposures in fairly tricky lighting conditions! For digital, the exposures look very good. Pretty decent framing for you being a newb and all!

One thing to note: these are all made in late afternoon back-lighting or side-lighting type conditions. Do you see how beautiful that type of lighting actually can be? Keep that in mind; that early-morning and late-afternoon "slanting sunlight" is absolutely beautiful on many subjects.