Just Real Shanghai

ice by heart

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Shanghai is one of the biggest and modernest city in China. It's tall, fast, fashion and flashy. In my view, those things couldn't cover up its short and frail history. I really like my hometown, and yet, I am still concerned about more and more disappearing things. I think that new and old do not represent beauty and ugliness all the time.
This is my first time to show my "old" photos. No beutiful view, no flowery colors, it is just real Shanghai.
Now, I have to say sorry for my poor English, that I couldn't express the background and environment in more detail for my every photo.:wink:

1.This view is disappearing. It's usual in Shanghai 30 years ago. Many families lived in this kind of house. Its so crowded that no private area can let every inhabitant hang the clothes to dry by air. They are so clever that the clothes are hung together to dry in public area. No one will feel umbarrassed or not safe. So everybody living there were happy and friendly. Of course, now, most Shanghainess have had their comfortable and private home. However, that kind of relationship for harmony and friendly is no longer in their lives.

DD42F266967C0E13BF2EF5AB5376A9BE_500.jpg

2. A traffic road in Shanghai.These old houses will be dismentled quikly. Oriental Pearl TV Tower and two skyscrapers is in far away.They are the symbols of this city. New and beautiful symbols will substitute for the old histories in a crazy speed.
D235E5F780C2FD7972074BDE75AFF922_500.jpg

I will update this thread frequently.Thanks for looking.:wink:

I like the composition in #1 more, but IMO cropping to 8x10 or square would help, cut off the white area at the top, #2 IMO would better if it were only the top haft with out the man walking in the foreground, some people think genification is always good

Welcome to the forum.
Great photos and the story really gives them meaning.