Landscape photography checklist and recommendations?

Croissant Seven

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I live in CO, and I'm a mountain kid, so nature and landscape photography is a definite interest of mine. I want to take relevant, important, beautiful pictures of my home state and elsewhere, but I'm just starting out with basic consumer gear, and building from there.

So, I'm looking for recommendations for gear that's not in the pro-pricing range, to augment my current rig to take better shots in the mountains. I range anywhere from snowboard parks to alpine passes, to on the river with a fly rod.

Here's what I'm working with currently:
-Nikon D3000
-Nikon Kit Lenses: 18-55mm and 55-200mm
-Circular polarizer
-Basic tripod
-20/20 vision :mrgreen:

If you were me, with a budget of, say, $1000, where would you place that money to best upgrade what I'm working with, for what I'd like to shoot?

This isn't a theoretical, either, I've set aside a grand of funny munny for photo gear and I'm going to start shopping next week.

Some stuff I've done so far, since I bought my Nikon in September:

Fremont Pass, near Leadville, CO
DSC_0059.jpg

Rollins Pass/Apex townsite, above Boulder:
DSC_0221.jpg

Genesee Park, near Golden, CO (that bull didn't like me very much!)
DSC_0344.jpg

Linus on Boreas Pass, near Breckenridge. Wildlife FTW.:lol:
DSC_0168-1.jpg

I'm not too far from the mountains up here in Alberta...but I still don't get out there as much as I would like. I LOVE the mountains.

I also love wide angle lenses, so my suggestion would be to consider a nice 'ultra wide angle' lens. Maybe something like the Sigma 10-20mm. And of course, a polarizing filter that is big enough for it. (some people don't like to use a polarizer on such wide lenses, but not me...I love it).

If you look around the forum, you should be able to find many examples shots I've taken in the mountains with my Canon 10-22mm lens.