Landscaping...no,not that kind..Suggestions.

sofakingood

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all and thanks for taking the time to help me out, Im still new to photography and just do it as a hobby. I really would like to take on Landscaping and see where that take me. I would really like your input as I sometimes feel like my lens being a Full Frame lens isnt compensating my camera, also read that its not suited for APC-S sensor if landscaping is what your going. If anyone has used this lens on a APC-S and gotten beautiful resort to calm my overthinking mind ill highly appreciate it.

Currently using:
Canon EOS 60D
Canon 16-35mm f4 L

IMG_5652.jpg
IMG_5641_4.jpg
IMG_4801.jpg
IMG_5268_2.jpg

Normally your top notch high quality lenses are all for Full Frame.
A crop sensor simply uses the middle part of the lens which itself eliminates any problems which are normally at the edges.

I've only used FF lenses on all my past ape-c and FF cameras.
Try to find a 24-70/2.8 or 70-200/2.8 specific for an aps-c sensor.

Well the issue is not the lens. The 16-35mm f4 L is a cracking lens and should be easily good enough on your 60D to take some excellent landscapes.

The major issue I see in your shots are technique and composition related. All your shots above have a tilted horizon, so I'd sort that out in post. It's important to realise that scenes we see and experience in 3 dimensions do not always work well in 2 dimensions. You need to isolate the important parts on your scene and provide visual interest while putting the viewer inside the shot.

I'd spend some time learning about composition rather than worrying about your gear.

Just got to my computer ....

Are 3 of those 4 photos taken while someone was driving ?