Learning Photography // Is A Different Model Needed??

bob_barker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I really thought my freshly-bought Fujifilm Finepix S2000hd was going to be a great purchase for learning photography (tandemed with my new college-level photography course that started last week). And it just may be, but the fact that it has practically NO aperture control has me worried. According to the Professor, aperture is a HUGE part of learning photography, and if my "multi-faceted" Fujifilm has practically none, is another camera purchase in store ALREADY?!?!

Everything I was reading made it sound like the Finepix 2000hd was a DLSR without needing (or ability) to change lenses. I can change the ISO, I can change the Shutter speed, but aperture control pretty much doesn't exist. It's sounded like the Finepix S2000hd is pretty much a "point and shoot" camera but I really thought it was looking at DLSR quality. The 10 mega-pixels is nice, but if I'm a blooming photographer, is a camera w/ more control needed??

I'm liking what the Olympus EVOLT e410 is offering, and it seems like it has way more aperture control than the Fujifilm.

How alike and how different are these two cameras?? Am I going to need something more ranged than the Fujifilm to accurately and appropriately learn photography???

I know the S2000hd has a lot of great features, but it all feels so automaticly set. I feel like I'll need more manual features to learn photography like I want to.

I'd like to know how different and how big of a step up the EVOLT e410 would be from the Finepix s2000hd, and if the EVOLT isn't that much different, maybe a different brand/model that I can pick up used for $200 would be the better selection??

Please help out, as I'd like to make the best decision for the best price. I plan on holding on to the Finepix, but I want something with much more manual control to learn photography as well.
---Thanks---