Lens Recomendations?

BOOSTED

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Right now I have a kit lens (18-105). Is there any nikon lens which is $250 under? or realistically lens's under $250 are crap? I'm mainly using it for automotive photography. The max I would spend would probably be $400 but the cheaper I spend on a good lens the better.

So far people have been telling me to go with a:
-Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G

-Nikon AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D

50mm f/1.8 is a good lens :)

Whats wrong with the 18-105mm?

I am new to photography but what i can see so far is lenses are one of those things that you get what you pay for. A 200 dollar lens may do fine but it wont be as good as a 400 dollar one. Like i said though i am new and dont have too much experience.

That 18-105 is a nice lens ... it may be a "kit" lens but that lens by itself is a $400-ish level lens ... I'd use it and be happy with it.

A 200 dollar lens may do fine but it wont be as good as a 400 dollar one. Like i said though i am new and dont have too much experience.

What do you think would effect a picture more. A miniscule difference in sharpness, or being experienced vs. Inexperienced. Take that money and go buy some books. Wouldn't that be the smart thing to do?

Both lenses that you listed are great lenses.

...or realistically lens's under $250 are crap?

It depends on how you define "crap". There are a lot of things that go into a lens that could effect it's cost.

For instance I own 2 28-70ish f/2.8 lenses. One cost $350 and the other $1300.

sharpness: same

color: same

contrast: same

speed: cheaper lens is 1/3rd stop faster at a given f/#

bokeh: very similar, cheap lens seems just a smidge smoother

lens flare: expensive lens has more issues with lens flare

AF: speed and accuracy are the same, cheap lens makes a slight buzz, expensive lens is absolutely silent

size: cheaper lens is smaller and lighter