Lens Recommendation Astro and Macro

BlkdOutGsxr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,
I'm new to the forum, just thought I would get some opinions on what lenses I should consider for the two subjects posted; Astrophotography and Macro. I've been reading around the internet but there is so much information that it really makes it difficult to form an opinion. Astro can be really expensive I know, I'm not looking to get crazy with it but just kinda basic landscapes with stars. I am a college student, so I'd like to keep the lenses under 500 dollars/pc. Thanks in advance for any help and I look forward to discussions on the forum!

Body: D5100

My current lenses:
18-55mm 3.5 kit lens
55-200mm VR
will be purchasing 50mm 1.8 when it gets in stock at the photo shop in town for portraits and walking around

For macro, the Tokina 100mm f/2.8 is just $490 brand new. It won't auto-focus on the D5100 though, so you'd have to manually do it, which is most often the case when shooting macro anyway. It's a RAZOR sharp lens though.

If you want something with an AF motor in the lens, look at the Nikon AF-S 60mm f/2.8 as an option. It's $465 brand new at Amazon.

As for the astro-photography, just try the 18-55 kit lens to start. Use a tripod, then do some really long exposure stuff.

Astro can be really expensive I know, I'm not looking to get crazy with it but just kinda basic landscapes with stars

you are going to want a wide fast lens for this. Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 perhaps? There are several other options in this range, but go with something with a wide aperture.

Last edited:
@ Bc_steve did you use a flash on your Sedona, AZ picture?(edit: your first one with the lit foreground, didn't realize you had two of Sedona) I'm heading out tonight to try out my 18-55mm and was curious.