Lens Selection Help

lordnardo20

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Beginner here. I have the Canon Rebel XS, with the lens that came with it (EF-S 18 - 55mm f/3.5 - 5.6IS), and a Canon EF 75 - 300mm f/4.6 - 5.6 telephoto lens.

I am going to Hawaii, and would love to get some sort of wide angle lens for the trip. I really don't know too much about lenses, and would appreciate any thoughts (and also whether or not I should stick with Canon lenses, or if there is a cheaper alternative that doesn't sacrifice quality).

Thanks!

Hello and welcome..

Actually for what you have, thats all you will really need.
personally, I have a number of diff. lenses for spicific shots, but for what your doing, save the money and use it in hawaii.
Getting alot of diff. lenses can sometimes cause one to get confused and think that a spicific lens will be good for that "one" shot.
What you have will work very well. Just think composure. (Diff. angles, lighting, etc.)

Let the camera and lens do thier jobs, and I think youll be fine.

Have a look at the Canon EF-S 10-22mm or a cheaper alternative, the Sigma 10-20mm.

The least expensive choice is the Tokina 12-24 f/4.0. Tokina's are built like tanks. Of the same level as Nikon or Canon (in build). It's a $400 lens. The optics will be about the same or better as your current lenses. But not quite as good as the best of the best lenses. Not to mean its not a good lens. For the price it's a very good wide lens.

Tamron makes an 10-24 f/3.5-4.5 for about $480. It's a little bit faster than the Sigma and a little longer in range. They have about the same build quality as Sigma.