Lenses for Nikon D50

mltran

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I want to get some suggestions on what lenses to purchase next. I am already thinking about getting the nikkor 50mm 1.8 (hopefully for Valentine's Day:heart:), but besides that what are some good lenses to have? I love wildlife, zoo, landscape and macro photography, but I also take a lot of pictures of my 2 year old son. As you can see I have the standard kit lens and a cheaper zoom lens. Any help would be great!:D Thanks!

EDIT: My budget- well lets just say any price, but it may take me a year to save up for. But I am not a pro and this is just my hobby for now, so I don't think I need the absolute top of the line.

Last edited:
Budget. Budget? BUDGET!??!!!!!!1!

I don't really have a budget, because I will just save up for whatever lens I need. It may take me a long time to do that, but oh well.

Used 80-200 F/2.8 for telephoto, and a 12-24 Tokina for wide angle shots. About 1000 overall for the two.

Thank you. Is there a reason I should go with Tokina over Nikon? Would either of those lenses work for Macro?

Anyone else have any recommendations?

Thank you. Is there a reason I should go with Tokina over Nikon? Would either of those lenses work for Macro?

Neither is a macro lens. The Tokina is cheaper than its Nikon counterpart.

Do you have a recommendation on a macro lens?

Well, I wouldn't get a macro lens as it can be very limiting.

But the Sigma 105MM F/2.8 is an old workhorse, as is the Tamron 90MM F/2.8. Both can be had for about 300 bucks used.

Good lense to have (in order).

50mm F1.8
Used Nikon 80-200 F2.8
Sigma 18-50 HSM F2.8
Tokina 11-16 F2.8 or Tokina 12-24 F4

The Sigma 18-50 is a wannabe macro (3:1), but if you still need a macro I would go for the Sigma 105mm F2.8.