Light Meter Suggestions

SoulfulRecover

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Considering a light meter but I'm not entirely sure what I should be looking at. I'd be using it for the 4x5 and I have about a $300 budget. I'd much rather spend half that but just an idea of what I can work with. I shoot portraits, mostly ambient light but I do have strobes. Any thoughts?

I'm always on a budget. I have a Weston Master III/Invercone for incident metering. For flash metering Quantum Calcuflash2. Got them both from the auction site. Had the Weston rebuilt by George Milton of Quality Light Metric and the Quantum is within half a stop of the in camera in the D90. I rarely use the Quantum due to accurate in camera meters but use the Weston often because of the incident feature.

The Weston Master series are ancient...and have the finest, most broad, precise analog dials ever made:perfect for use with view lenses and apertures like f/45 or f/64!! Very much the epitome of mechanical meter readouts. My Master 3 is dead now.

For flash metering, Sekonic or Minolta, used, is the way to go I think. Yes the readouts are limited, and digital, and you don't have 50 different f-stop and shutter combinations visible at one time, the way you do with the Weston Master series, but for flash metering hard to beat a Minolta or Sekonic incident flash meter. Technically what I'm speaking about are called combination meters, meaning they can do ambient and flash-pop metering,but hardly anybody uses that correct term these days and we just say flash meter but I'm really talking about a combination meter something less elaborate then like the Minolta high-end orvthe Sekonic high-end. On eBay I see decent meters going for a $95-$125 all the time, and that's all you need to spend.