Looking for advice on an entry level SLR $300-500

jeanb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey! I know this question gets asked a lot, but from the previous threads I read, it's not always price specific. I'm new to photography and I'm looking to start out with an entry level (D)SLR camera. My price range is $300-500 and I'm more than willing to buy a used body. Although, I would probably buy my lenses new since I could still use them if I upgrade at some point. Digital would probably be easiest, but I wouldn't mind otherwise. On that note, if there's an easy, affordable DSLR that shoots decent video, please point me in the right direction! This is just a hobby-nothing professional-so I plan on using it for just about anything. Some of the cameras I'm looking at are the Pentax K200D, Digital Rebel XT, Canon 450D, Canon 40d, Canon Eos Rebel GII, Canon ELan II, and Canon AE1. Am I on the right track? Is there another I should be considering that I left out? I've done research on these and a few others, but I'd really appreciate some guidance. Thanks!
-Jean

Last edited:
You can find a used Nikon D50 for that budget. It is a good camera and very user friendly. It should also support what you would want to do as a newbie. I have owned mine for five years and have not had any issues with it. I would love to have some of the features that the newer models have but I am on a three kid budget.

On that note, if there's an easy, affordable DSLR that shoots decent video, please point me in the right direction!

Correct me if I'm wrong, but do any of those even shoot video?

Just a heads up but the Canon Elan 2 and the AE 1 are both Film I.E. 135mm analog cameras not digital cameras.