Looking for input on switch to dgital

Redrock320

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm thinking about switching to digital from my film SLR. I currently have a Minolta Maxxum 5000i and have the std. lens and a telephoto 70-130mm. I'm a recreational amature photographer. I have the background knowledge for many of the more advanced photo techniques (I used to do all of my own film processing) but I know I'll just use the camera for hiking trips, aireal shots (when I'm flying) and other photo-worthy outings.

I'm more of a landscape type and typically work in B&W but would like to dabble in some partial color work.

My question is: what's the better camera for the money under say $700?

I'm also considering slightly used cameras as well as a platform that I can continue to use my current lenses on (Minolta/Sony).

Any insight into the pros/cons of the likes of the Minolta D5/D7, Cannon XT/XTi, Nikon's, etc. would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Why would you not buy a sony? all your lenses will fit on all the new alpha bodies. The A100 was a ok camera but it also was the first of the line and not up to my expectations, but it did serve me well while I had it. But everything I did not like on the A100 was fixed on the A200. Which is a great camera. The A300 and A350with live view swivel mount will be out within a few weeks. And are said to be under 1000 in a kit. If you had the funds the A700 is the way to go. I am a long time Minolta user and have 8 Minolta bodies. All are inferior to the Alphas. Even the A100 would be a enormous upgrade from your 5000i. if funds are tight The A100's are going dirt cheap iv'e seen them as low as $500 you can't beat that!!!

It looks like Sony would be a good option for you, but in the long run you might be happier with a Nikon or Canon model because they have a broader selection of lenses and accessories. If you plan on simply using the ones you have though, I'd probably just go for the Sony.