Looking into a new prime for my D800

CThomas817

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been doing a lot of family sessions outdoors and while I was very hopeful for the Nikon 85mm/1.8, I'm actually not loving the background separation nor the bokeh. At close range, I am happy with it. But when I pull further back for full body/group shots at f/4 it's just not what I expected. If I stop up I risk OOF people. Yes my background is a good distance behind the subject.

Is a 135mm worth it? Or will I be a mile away trying to get kids' attention?

This is one reason why a 70 to 200 mm zoom lens is so popular for family portraiture. There is a fine line between camera to subject distance, and focal length, and lens aperture in use. yes, with a 135 mm lens you will be fairly far away on group photos. However it should be possible to use F2.8 or F3.5 from some distance, to get a good background separation.

Thanks, I wish I could afford it right now! The Nikon 70-200 2.8 is on my wish list

An 80-200 might well be a more affordable option; good glass, well made, and almost the same focal length range.

If you want a prime at a good price, look for a 105mm F2.5 AI or AI-S, it has lovely bokeh and is very sharp, although it may not be fast enough for you. The AF-S 105mm F1.4E is simply stunning and has a similar look as the AF-S 200mm F2.

That Tamron g2 is on my list as next purchase. Half the price of the Nikon version, apparently very near the performance, a USB docky thing can be bought to ensure compatibility with newer bodies going fwd.

I often said I thought a good f4 zoom is good enough, and I still think that's the case but an f2.8 stabilized zoom with such good feedback and the price is imo worth considering