Losing the passion

JasonRE

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
HELP.........HELP..............HELP

I am a 35 year old male who has been doing photography for 5 years now. Yes, I discovered it very late in life, which is about right. I've finally found what I wanted to do with my life. Easy? Not so much. The major problem is currently happening, and it's scaring me.

I have been a draftsman for the past 10 years, and after finding photography, I have wanted to learn about it, study it, learn new techniques, etc. After being laid off from my job 2 Fridays ago, things aren't looking up.

I thought that after that, my drive would go through the roof. I would be able to spend more time learning, and perfecting my craft. Not so much. After realizing that sports photography isn't the easiest job to get as a photographer, I decided to switch gears. The problem lies here. I have never shot any flash photography, never worked with anything outside of Lightroom, and don't have any schooling under my belt.

A lot of the jobs out there are marketing jobs, where you have to basically create your setup, use flash..........again, NOTHING I have done before.

It's scaring the hell out of me to get out of this sports comfort zone. I don't have the money for school, and I have a wife and child at home. There are just so many people doing photography and that are WAY better than me, that it's hard to figure out where to turn from here. This in turn is making me lose my passion for photography.

I don't know what to do. Stick with sports and keep 'hoping' that something will pop up? I don't have years to master flash to compete with people getting these marketing photographer jobs. Nobody is in real need for a photojournalist any longer either.

I don't even have the enthusiasm to pick up my cameras and go shoot random things like I used to.