Low Light Church...

aammoore

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay, so I've been asked to take some pictures at a friends wedding. I'm a beginner and have shot weddings before but never with such low lighting.

My dilema is the lighting in the building AND reception are...VERY low...with only candles and dimmed lights.

My question: What equipment is needed for this such as flashes, strobes, etc..For the formal portraits and the ceremonial portraits.
I'm searching for brand names that you suggest are best.

Working with a Canon 30D and 420ex. Also, just bought a Gary Fong Lightsphere but haven't had a chance to work with it.
Thanks!

Okay, so I've been asked to take some pictures at a friends wedding. I'm a beginner and have shot weddings before but never with such low lighting.

My dilema is the lighting in the building AND reception are...VERY low...with only candles and dimmed lights.

My question: What equipment is needed for this such as flashes, strobes, etc..For the formal portraits and the ceremonial portraits.
I'm searching for brand names that you suggest are best.

Working with a Canon 30D and 420ex. Also, just bought a Gary Fong Lightsphere but haven't had a chance to work with it.
Thanks!

I am certainly not the best person to help you but I see that no one else has responded yet. My suggestion is to use a really fast lens, such as 50mm f/1.4 and a tripod (no flash) in the church. Can't help you regarding the reception.

I am certainly not the best person to help you but I see that no one else has responded yet. My suggestion is to use a really fast lens, such as 50mm f/1.4 and a tripod (no flash) in the church. Can't help you regarding the reception.

I don't think the 50mm 1.4 would be enough.

I'm also not the best person for this
but I have a 50mm 1.4 and it may make it a lot
easier but...

I don't think the 50mm 1.4 would be enough.

I'm also not the best person for this