Need help with TTL!!

CThomas817

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I have been doing portrait photography for a few years, either natural light or in studio with strobes. I recently ventured out to expand my services to event photography, and oh man I am struggling with TTL. I'm on a Nikon D850 and I use an SB900 with a Gary Fong Lightsphere diffuser if ceilings are not low enough to bounce. I've tried both TTL and TTL BL and my images are always several stops underexposed, so even exposure comp is not enough. I end up manually setting exposure for every shot as I make my way around the event and it's so time-inefficient.

The pre-flash is going off so I would think it's getting the exposure reading but ‍♀️. Any advice would be great.

The first thing I would suggest: switch the flash to A mode. pick an ISO level and an f-stop on the flash. Set the same f-stop on the lens. Pick an ISO such as 400,do your shot and,if needed, change either the ISO or the f-stop to get the correct exposure. This is a much older method that predates TTL flash control.

Last edited:
What your describing is the effect of the inverse square law.
Light diminishes the further from the subject.

The TTL system is reading the amount of light coming through the lens from an object a given distance away and is following the rules established by the camera's software. A goodly amount of that light is actually from the relfected light near you and the meter is reading that exposure level.
Derrel is correct with the exposure level action and one trick with modern digital is (only if possible ahead of time) to use a white flash card exposed at the light levels of the area and use that shot to generate a profile in post process to either balance the exposure or bring it up or down.

Read up on recipratory failure.