Low light, indoor sports lens options

iRswap

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all,
I recently started shooting wrestling events which as you can probably already assume, is dark and fast paced. I shot the last event with the 16-80 f2.8-4 "kit lens" that came with my d500 and although the photos actually turned out great, i still feel like i may need a faster lens. Now bear in mind, my mind is already blown with how well the d500 preforms even with the kit lens. I am simply looking for options as far as fast zoom lenses goes. Ive googled it and it seems like every site shows the same nikon ambassador shooting basketball in "low light" even when the court is better lit than one of Oprah's talk shows. So that hasnt helped.
Now i have looked in to the 17-55 f2.8 which along with its full frame brother, used to be my dream lenses but that seems out dated despite their still valuable preformance.
So that being said, im all eyes and look forward to seeing your responses.
Ps. Budget is no matter.

Ps. Budget is no matter.
Lucky you!

Don't get turned off by the phrase "kit lens" Nikon bundles some pretty damn good glass with their bodies. Assuming you want a zoom lens, your choices are limited: 17-55, 24-70, or 70-200 in 2.8. You can go with a prime and get down to 1.4, but even at aquatic events (usually the worst lighting of all sporting venues in my experience), I've had no problems shooting at f4, especially with modern bodies. Figure out what focal range you are using and purchase based on that, 'though to be honest, I'm not sure you need anything else. The 16-80 is, by all accounts a pretty capable lens.

Haha i am far from lucky! To be honest, im broke and in the "starving artist" category but if i can find something that will help me in my future i will stop at nothing to obtain it.