Low-light Wedding Tips

Clawed

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello there!

I have a coule of weddings slated for early next year and as a newbie to the wedding photography business, I need some tips for shooting a night wedding (inside a church with an indoor reception).

My goal is to go to these locations and snap a couple of shots to post here to give you an idea of what I am looking at, but for now:

· ANY lighting tips / suggestions will be appreciated (including gear I should consider bringing along - lighting, lenses).
· I have a pretty good artistic eye, but I definitely would like some shot ideas if you have any.
· Camera / flash settings (obviously tough to give specifics without knowing details but some general tips would suffice.
· Post shots of your own!

Also, keep in mind I am not an absolute beginner or even completely new to helping out with a wedding.
*I am looking for a mentor, and I will probably post separately for this, but let me know here if you (or someone you know) would be a willing mentor*

Thank you!

Last edited:
Lighting tips in a church are 100% the same as in *any* low light situation. Only exception is that in most ceremonies lighting is not permitted at all times so fast glass and cameras good at high ISO are mandatory.

The strobist method, though is very good to know... go to www.strobist.com and read/learn/master lighting 101 and 102.

The big issue will be whether or not you will be allowed to use additional lighting like flash (or if you even want to).

If you can, then you don't really have to worry too much about the light levels...and you can concentrate on your techniques for using that light.

If it's not allowed, then it may be a struggle just to get shots that are not blurry. As mentioned, this is where it pays to have a fast lens and shoot at high ISO.

The big issue will be whether or not you will be allowed to use additional lighting like flash (or if you even want to).