Macro Lens, should I hold out for the 150mm?

NickRummy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well after days of reading on the forum I'm now waiting to make the final decision and need a little persuasion. I'm still new to my D200 and have an extreme interest in macro photography. I've narrowed my choice down to either the Sigma 105mm or the Sigma 150mm which have a pretty significant price difference. I've seen some amazing photos taken with both but the 150mm obviously has some benefits.

I guess I'm just trying to justify paying the price of the 150mm over the 105mm. It looks like the 1.4x teleconverter added to each is a common thing with good results which is a nice option to have down the road. I guess this brings me to my questions and opinions.

Which would you go for? I could buy the 105mm now or wait a few weeks for the 150mm. If you have photos using either lens I would love to see them, especially if used on a D200!

I'm thinking about trying to find the 105mm online at a rental site to try it out before buying. My only issue is the 105mm can be had for such a great price it's almost not worth renting however if I'm not happy with the minimal focus range I might be kicking myself for not getting the 150mm?

Any particular reason why you went with the Nikon lens of the Sigma and why the 105 over the 150?

tokina makes a great 100 macro for 400 bucks i think.

I went with the Nikkor 105, but several members here have the Sigma version and are quite happy with them. You can add on a 1.4TC for some extra reach if needed. Just keep in mind that the longer the lens, it becomes a little bit harder for handholding macro.

If you only have to wait a few weeks to save enough for the 150mm then definitely do that. When shooting tiny critters, the more working space the better.